Foodservice Footprint Screenshot-2019-09-12-at-18.32.08 The drinks sector’s responsible business elite celebrated at Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards Drinks Sector News  news-email

The drinks sector’s responsible business elite celebrated at Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards

Launching last night, the Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards brought together the great and good of the drinks supply chain to celebrate excellence in sustainable business practice. Hosted at RIBA The Royal Institute of British Architects in London, the newly-established awards are a barometer for sustainability and responsible business practice across the out-of-home drinks industry.

With environmental and sustainability issues growing in importance, and consumers becoming ever more conscious in their consumption, the focus on responsible business practice has never been as important. Few other sectors rely on raw materials, water, energy and packaging as much as the production of alcohol and soft drinks. The Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards looks to identify and celebrate those companies that go above and beyond, striking the right balance for the benefit of their business, the consumer and the industry at large.

The Winners & Highly Commended:

The Special Achievement Award

Sponsored by Matthew Clark

Winner: Dr Andy Wood, Adnams

Economic Sustainability Award

Sponsored by UK Hospitality

Winner: Good Things Brewing

Highly Commended: Patrón Tequila

Sustainable Use of Water Award

Sponsored by Nescafé Azera

Winner: Marston’s Brewery

Highly Commended: Greene King and Waterscan

Sustainable Use of Raw Materials Award

Sponsored by Patrón Tequila

Winner: Toast Ale

Highly Commended: The Oxford Artisan Distillery

Energy Efficiency Award

Sponsored by The British Beer & Pub Association

Winner: Wye Valley Brewery

Highly Commended: Brentingby Gin

Innovations in Packaging Award

Sponsored by Coca-Cola European Partners

Joint Winners: Carlsberg UK and Garçon Wines

Highly Commended: Lucozade Ribena Suntory`

Waste Prevention & Management Award Award

Sponsored by Innocent Drinks

Winner: Marston’s Brewery

Highly Commended: Reunion Ales

Sustainable Supplier Award

Sponsored by Fleet Street Communications

Winner: Karma Cola Co

Highly Commended: Bibendum Wine

Stakeholder Engagement Award

Sponsored by SIBA

Winner: Warner’s Distillery

Highly Commended: Budweiser Brewing Group

Social Impact Award

Sponsored by The British Soft Drinks Association

Winner: Brewgooder

Highly Commended: Coca Cola European Partners

Watch the Video HERE

About Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards

The Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards represents the annual celebration of the work that organisations in the drinks industry and its supply chains are doing to in some way redress the balance for the benefit of themselves, their consumers and the industry at large. It is a celebration of initiative and innovation, of commercial imagination and endeavour, that recognises those organisations leading the way.

These awards are open to drinks businesses of all sizes operating in the hospitality and out of home arena: brand, manufacturer, supply chain, distributor or operator. Entries are judged by a panel of specialists in sustainability, the drinks industry and hospitality, so if you are an organisation that is proud of an initiative or achievement in this field we would urge you to enter.

Thanks to all Footprint Drinks Sustainability Awards sponsors and partners. Without this support these awards would not be possible: Matthew Clark, Coca-Cola European Partners, Fleet Street Communications, Innocent Drinks Nescafé Azera and Patrón Tequila together with the British Beer & Pub Association, the British Soft Drinks Association, SIBA and UK Hospitality

Thanks also to our panel of judges: Diageo’s Michael Alexander, Steve Cairns from Cawston Press, innocent’s Roz Davis, Simon Galkoff of Casual Dining Group, Julian Hunt from Coca-Cola European Partners, Environmentalist William Kendall. Kate Nicholls from UKHospitality, Matthew Clark’s David Phillips and Tim Warrillow of Fever Tree.