Foodservice Footprint Unknown-116 2019 FINALISTS ANNOUNCED Foodservice News and Information Out of Home sector news


As the exciting Awards season continues, we are delighted to announce that, with an unprecedented level of entries to the 2019 waste2zero awards, the following organisations are in the running to pick up a trophy recognising excellence in waste management and waste prevention.

B-Products ISS UK
Bidfood Klockner Pentaplast (KP)
BioPak Lexington
Brakes Nestlé Professional
Bunzl Panda Packaging
Compass UK & Ireland Sodexo UK & Ireland
EY with ISS Vacherin
Fareshare with Bidfood Vegware
Fowler Welch Winnow
Greene King YHA with SWRnewstar
Innocent Drinks


Shortlisted for the 2019 Special Achievement Award are Peter Goodwin, Founder of Simply Cups and Andrew Shakman, Co-Founder of LeanPath

The winners will be announced at the glamorous Awards Dinner to be held at the In & Out Club, St.James’s Square, London SW1Y 4JW on Thursday 10th October 2019. BOOK HERE

What’s it all about?

The objective of waste2zero, now in its third year, is to specifically give the out of home industry a platform to showcase best practice and recognise excellence in this vital area. The natural by-product is to encourage those organisations – and there are some – still indifferent about waste, to take the issue more seriously and to get involved in its management and prevention at a business level.

Waste remains endemic and a mega-trend and one of the biggest challenges to the foodservice and hospitality industry. Food waste, in particular, has emerged as one of the defining sustainability issues of our modern food system. Plastics, packaging and other non-food waste presents a perpetual and colossal problem, whilst micro-plastic waste threatens the food chain itself.

In the out of home sector, around a million tonnes of food is wasted every year, of which a staggering 75% is avoidable. Simultaneously, 1.3 million tonnes of packaging and 0.66 million tonnes of other non-food wastes are also discarded. 

Much best practice is in evidence, but an unacceptable waste culture also remains prevalent. Our industry needs to showcase best practice more than ever before and these awards are the platform to do so.

With thanks to the Waste2Zero judges who dedicate so much of their time:

  • Carol Evans, Solution Director, Fourth
  • Anna Havard, Head of Member Services Development, CIWM
  • Lugano Kapembwa, Director, Lukap
  • Dean Pearce, Business Development, SWRnewstar
  • Eleanor Morris, Special Advisor Hospitality and Food Service at WRAP
  • John Twitchen, Director, env23